Home Page

'Passion for learning, education for life'


Welcome to our Governors’ section.


Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

The governing body's aim is to take a largely strategic role in the running of a school.

This includes deciding what they want the school to achieve and setting the strategic framework for getting there. This means:


  • Setting suitable aims and objectives for the school
  • Agreeing policies, targets and priorities
  • Monitoring and reviewing aims and objectives, and whether the policies, targets and priorities are being achieved
  • Acting as a 'critical friend' to the headteacher by providing advice and support


At Blackwood School, our governing body is made up of the following members:


Neil Taylor                     (Co-opted Governor)      Term of office 3.10.16 - 2.10.20

Vice chairman

Margaret Yates              (LA Governor)                Term of office 12.3.17 - 12.2.21


Tracey Coles                 (Staff  Governor)             ex-officio


Tejinder Malhi               (Parent Governor)          Term of office 22.11.17 - 21.11.20

Shannon Moore           (Co-opted Governor)       Term of office 16.9.17 - 15.9.21
Mike Milne                    (Co-opted Governor)       Term of office 3.10.16 - 2.10.20


Trazel Naik                    (Parent Governor)           Term of office 22.11.17 - 21.11.20


Hamel Patel                  (Co-opted Governor)       Term of office 3.10.16 - 2.10.20
Sharon Revitt               (Associate Community Governor) 
Rev Mandy Walker        (Parent Governor)        Term of office 17.6.15 - 16.6.19

Helen Watkins              (Co-opted Governor)         Term of office 19.11.17 - 18.11.21
Deputy Headteachers:

Lindsay Charles
Emma Massey

Picture 1 Hamel Patel (Co-opted Governor)
Picture 2 Neil Taylor (Chair of Governors)

Log of House Points

  • Maple 7291
  • Beech 6290
  • Oak 6391